[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review

  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
  • Publishing Date: June 8, 2021
  • Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review”

Anticipated Releases of 2021: June to September

Hello, hello! Welcome to the second part of my list of anticipated releases for 2021! This time I’ve narrowed it down to only 8 books because I’m frankly not that excited about that many Summer books. Most of my anticipated releases of this year have already been published, and from my first list of anticipated releases of 2021, I have only read 4 out of 13 (though I’ve bought 4 others that are just waiting for me to read it).

Continue reading “Anticipated Releases of 2021: June to September”

May Wrap Up //2021

Hello friends! Frankly, May was a rather exhausting month and an unpleasant month. I didn’t feel as motivated to read, and in the last two weeks, I’ve only read manga. Still, I did feel much more creative towards my blog and finally went to the cinema to see a movie! (It’s been soooo long! It was A Quiet Place II).

On another note, my internship has finally ended, and I’ve received some awesome feedback. I might even be getting the opportunity to work for them professionally in the future so I’m very happy right now. It had its bad, frustrating moments, and I’m so glad it’s over so I can rest for a few days, but I truly enjoyed the work I did.

June is is my favorite month because it’s my birthday month!! Now that I have more free time I’ll probably be going out a few times, buying way too many books as usual, and hopefully, I’ll get to relax and rest too, I am exhausted. (Though I have to start working on my internship report as well…) I’m sure it’s going to be great!

Continue reading “May Wrap Up //2021”

ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]

Goodreads// The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Continue reading “ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]”

Review: Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto

Goodreads// I had a sister, once… In a world ruled by fierce warrior queens, a grand empire was built upon the backs of Phoenix Riders—legendary heroes who soared through the sky on wings of fire—until a war between two sisters ripped it all apart.

I promised her the throne would not come between us. Sixteen years later, Veronyka is a war orphan who dreams of becoming a Phoenix Rider from the stories of old. After a shocking betrayal from her controlling sister, Veronyka strikes out alone to find the Riders—even if that means disguising herself as a boy to join their ranks.

But it is a fact of life that one must kill or be killed. Rule or be ruled. Just as Veronyka finally feels like she belongs, her sister turns up and reveals a tangled web of lies between them that will change everything. And meanwhile, the new empire has learned of the Riders’ return and intends to destroy them once and for all.

Sometimes the title of queen is given. Sometimes it must be taken.

Continue reading “Review: Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto”

My Favorite Fantasy Series on Netflix

Hi, there, I hope you’re all doing well! Today I’m here to share my favorite fantasy series currently available to watch on Netflix! There are plenty more series that I love, but these are some of the ones that I can always go back to rewatch when I need something that I know I like or that won’t bore me. Trying out new shows only to be very bored after a few episodes is something very tiring for me so, trust me when I say I rewatch more than not…

As I haven’t been all that inspired to write bookish posts, I decided to start sharing more of my love of tv shows and movies with you again! These posts will be in the form of recs or perhaps even reviews sometimes, but I’m aiming for just one post a month at least for now. Hope you enjoy it!

(Also, I’ve elected to put all of these in a random order.)


Continue reading “My Favorite Fantasy Series on Netflix”

Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Goodreads // When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

Continue reading “Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken”

Upcoming Releases with Gorgeous Covers You’ll Want to Read!

Are you the kind of person who (*occasionally*) buys books solely because they’re pretty? Well, you’ve come to the right place! Prepare to add another nine gorgeous books to your TBR!

Frankly, I don’t even know that much about most of these books, nor will I comment much about the plot in this post, as this is just about giving some love to these beautiful covers and also I’ve linked all the illustrators and artists involved in making them!

Though I am really looking forward to Six Crimson Cranes (I got an ARC!) and Iron Widow! (I’m legit dying to read this one, you have no idea, but I can’t even request it on Netgalley, only wish for it?!)

Continue reading “Upcoming Releases with Gorgeous Covers You’ll Want to Read!”

[Book Tour] The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He – Review

  • Genre: YA Science Fiction
  • Publishing date: May 4th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

One of the most twisty, surprising, engaging page-turner YAs you’ll read this year—We Were Liars with sci-fi scope, Lost with a satisfying resolution.

Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With no idea of how she was marooned, she only has a rickety house, an old android, and a single memory: she has a sister, and Cee needs to find her.

STEM prodigy Kasey wants to escape from the science and home she once trusted. The eco-city—Earth’s last unpolluted place—is meant to be a sanctuary for those committed to planetary protection, but it’s populated by people willing to do anything for refuge, even lie. Now, she’ll have to decide if she’s ready to use science to help humanity, even though it failed the people who mattered most.

Content Warning: terminal illness, suicide, violence (including choking), death, death of a parent (off-page), vomiting, large-scale natural disasters, and mass casualties, some gore.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He – Review”

Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It’s been a very long time since I made one of these posts, though there has been no shortage of contenders. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater was one of my absolute favorite books of 2020, and I recently got a physical copy and the sudden urge to reread it. What can I say, other than that this book is good for my soul?

This time around I thoroughly annotated it, and I have a large list of quotes to share with you today! Note that this will include SPOILERS for this book, though I refrained from putting anything major. *

RELATED: Review: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater [+moodboard]

Continue reading “Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater”