Review: Clockwork Princess

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

DSC_0104.JPG

Book Series: The Infernal Devices book #3 (from The Shadowhunter Chronicles)


Danger and betrayal…Secrets and enchantment…Third and final book in the bestselling prequel series to The Mortal Instruments, set in Victorian London. A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain needs one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. But Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her. (**I didn’t use the goodreads synopsis because it was full of spoilers**)

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 When I first started reading this book I couldn’t quite get into it. I think I was almost afraid of reading it because the finale of City of Heavenly Fire spoiled/almost ruined the ending for me, and I also ended up finding more spoilers on the Cassandra Claire website. [Do not check out The Last Hour series if you have not read this book yet!] Another reason why I was reluctant to read this book was because of the hype. I did love the first two books of this series but I didn’t get as obsessed with them (or with Will Herondale) as a lot of people did so I guess I was afraid I wouldn’t like it.

I am pleased to say this book exceeded my expectations by far and it was definitely one of the best I’ve ever read.

I loved most of the characters in this book series to be honest which was something that didn’t happen in The Mortal Instruments series, not after only three books at least.

Since the first book, Tessa and Will’s growth was exponential, palpable even. Tessa went from being helplessly tortured by the Dark Sisters to throwing herself into harm’s way to save and protect the ones she loves. She’s one of my favorite characters of the series now. And Will Herondale grew on me, I suppose, but Jace will always be my favorite Herondale. I rather prefer Will after he made that one significant discovery in Clockwork Prince (that I will not mention because of spoilers) The destructive, dark and tortured boy just wasn’t for me. ( I’ll forever love the poem he wrote to Tessa!!) And last but not least – Jem Carstairs! (I love the Carstairs!) Aside from his immense love for Tessa, I just feel like he didn’t change much, I mean it feels like this book ends with Jem still as impeccable as he was in Clockwork Angel, to be honest.(I still love him though, don’t get me wrong – especially in the end at Blackfriar’s Bridge – you guys know what I’m talking about.)

Cassandra Clare’s writing as usual blows my mind. Every single sentence is so beautifully written and wonderful. As always she is great at descriptiption (not too much but not too little!) and at making us cry and laugh at the same time. When I was reading certain parts I clearly remember thinking that even the narration parts had a different, more suitable vocabulary and structure to this time period. (Or maybe I’m just imagining things.) Her writing always enthralls me right from the first few chapters and I can’t help but love every bit of it.

This book made me laugh and it made me smile and it made me very warm inside. It made me cry and fear for my favorite characters and I was reading it at every chance I had. It was honestly such a great book!

I highly recommend this book series to everyone who is looking for thoroughly great books and likes these genres. I especially recommend it to those who like The Mortal Instruments series and have yet to try The Infernal Devices.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Princess

  1. Pingback: October Wrap Up! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

