Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

fotografia-2-3

Book Series: Book 1 of  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy.

ISBN: 9781594744761

Genre: Supernatural Fantasy; Adventure; Young Adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

 A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

My rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

*This review contains minor spoilers*

I had a lot of expectations for this book. Many bloggers and bookstagrammers I follow said they absolutely loved this book and the movie was going to premier soon and the trailer looked great so I decided to buy it. Perhaps it was because of all the hype around this book but I was sincerely disappointed with it.

The main character Jacob is a bit boring in my opinion. An ordinary boy with no ambitions or any plans, really – except for maybe working in the family business (something that seems to be extremely infuriating, I might add.) Throughout the book we can see him growing, becoming more independent and proactive I think but still… I believe this character could’ve been a lot more, could’ve done a lot more.

I liked all the peculiar children. Emma, Millard and Bronwyn were my favorites (possibly because they were the ones we got to know better). My favorite peculiarity was Emma’s but fire has always been one of my favorite abilities I must admit. Enoch was a little bit disturbing but I reckon anyone with that kind of power would have a peculiar personality. Although if not Emma’s than I would absolutely love to have Fiona’s power.

The writing wasn’t anything special but it wasn’t bad either. However, this book is written from Jacob’s perspective in the first person so there are certain limitations to what could be put in this book and not.

I really liked the photos in this book and I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the author’s idea was to give the people in these photos a story and that that was how this story was born. It’s a pretty neat concept.

After finishing this book, I re-watched the trailer and read some opinions regarding this movie from the point of view of fans of these books. They weren’t good, to say the least. The fact is that the producers/writers/?? (or whoever it was) decided to ‘switch’ an entire character. Emma is the one that spends the most time with Jacob, not Olive. In fact, Olive is barely a secondary character in this book.  I’m torn between wanting to see the movie (because it’s always so lovely to see a book you like come to life even if you already know it’s going to be shitty, pardon my language) and not wanting to see it because the trailer alone is a dead giveaway of how much they messed up the story.

In overall, I liked this story quite a bit actually. The reason of my rating is the main character Jacob and because the first half of the book was very slow and too long for its content. The second half of the book is very exciting. We meet the children and their world and it’s all very magical and quite literally timeless. This fictional world in general has a lot of potential and I’m actually very interested in reading the next book. I might not buy it, though

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I just finished this book too and totally agree with the pacing of the novel. I enjoyed it, but felt it could have gone through a heavy editing stage to help condense the first half. I’m also circumspect about the movie… sometimes Hollywood stops taking it’s crazy pills and creates something that leaves me staring at the screen whispering “What tha?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: October Wrap Up! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Polarizing Books | The Portuguese Bibliophile

  4. Pingback: Short Review: Hollow City | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

