October Wrap Up!

I can’t believe it’s November already! This year is just flying by me. Perhaps it is because I started journaling this year but I feel like I remember some months, some moments much more vividly than I used to.

So here’s all the books I read in October!! (Not many, I know and I wanted to read more but  sometimes I’m so tired from all my assignments and tests that I just don’t feel like reading.)

 

Clockwork Princess  ( 5 / 5 stars )

Full Review

I absolutely adored this book and it was perfect as a finale and even though I felt sad at the end, in general I felt an overall content feeling. It was very emotionally satisfying. Frankly, I just adore all of Cassandra Clare’s books and this one was no exception. A must read for anyone who enjoys young adult fantasy with believable romance.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children  (3 / 5 stars) 

Full Review

This books was sincerely disappointing as I mentioned in my review, but I did not dislike it entirely and I am curious to see what happens in the second book. The characters (aside from the MC) were great and the plot was pretty cool however the pacing and the mediocre writing (and mediocre main character) disappointed me. 

 

Lady Midnight ( 5 / 5 stars)

I’m currently having some difficulties writing a review for Lady Midnight because I’m not entirely sure how to start, where to start or what to say, really. I loved everything about this book and I cannot wait for Lord of Shadows. I can tell this is going to be another great trilogy. If you have not read this book yet, I strongly recommend you do! 

 

Nevernight  ( ? / 5 stars)

I started reading Nevernight last week but I’ve been so busy I haven’t even read past chapter 4 yet. So far, I am enjoying it very much. Epic and so funny!! I’m finding this world and its myths and concepts very interesting and though I haven’t seen much of her yet I like the main character, Mia. As usual, Jay Kristoff’s writing is amazing and as his fan I made up my mind to buy this book from just reading the synopse: (from Goodreads

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

((* I’m also currently rereading Illuminae but I’m going to talk more about that on another post.))

Leave a Reply

