Review: The Death Cure

The Death Cure by James Dashner

the_death_cure-1.jpg

Synopse:

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Although I enjoyed this book, I don’t like this kind of post-apocalyptic dystopian world that is amazon trilogy that much. I enjoyed the first book very much and even the movie despite its flaws. The second book was also pretty good and exciting. The second movie, however, is crap. I read this book because I wanted to know how this trilogy ended, so I’ll most likely not read The Kill Order.

These characters, the Gladers and whoever else comes along all seem to spend the three books doing the same thing, and that is to try to get away from WICKED. So I guess it was the repetitiveness that put me off. I ended up reading The Death Cure in epub format because I didn’t want to spend more money on this series.

I really liked Thomas’ development throughout the three books. He actually grows and is affected by what happens to him which makes him a great character. I often see characters who kill in life-and-death situations or in self-defense, or war situations and barely get affected by it. But you know what? That’s not how it works in the real world or the fictional world – unless that character has some big empathy problems, that is. There will always be a reaction or consequence even if not immediate to killing someone.

James Dashner’s writing is pretty good actually. I noticed it more in The Scorch Trials and I actually studied some scenes in order to improve my writing. It’s easy to read and the man sure knows how to write some exciting action/fight scenes!

In overall, it wasn’t that bad to read. I read it mostly in the bus and it was a good way to pass the time but I won’t be rereading it any time soon. I might watch the movie – even though it will be crap – because I love Dylan O’Brien and because I’m curious to see what they did with it.

 

Leave a Reply

