Movie Review: Doctor Strange

Doctor Strange

mv5bmjm2oda4mtm0m15bml5banbnxkftztgwnze5otyxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006831000_al_

  • Director:  Scott Derrickson
  • Writers: Jon Spaihts, Scott Derrickson , C. Robert Cargill
  • Based on the Marvel Comics by Steve Ditko
  • Cast included: Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Tilda Swinton, Mads Mikkelsen, Rachel McAdams
  • 1h 55 mins

A former neurosurgeon embarks on a journey of healing only to be drawn into the world of the mystic arts.

Rating: 5 / 5 stars

 

 

I’m a big fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and so I was really looking forward to this movie. I’m also a huge fan of Benedict Cumberbatch and when I heard he was playing Dr. Stephen Strange I was absolutely thrilled! 

I think Benedict Cumberbatch did an awesome job at playing the main character Dr. Stephen Strange – a.k.a. – an arrogant, entitled, slightly narcissistic(?) neurosurgeon. But he grows and redeems himself as all great characters do or he wouldn’t be as likable/lovable. His personal wish to heal his hands leads him to Kamar-Taj but he stays because it’s such a vast world out there unknown to him that he wnats to learn everything about it.  Personally, I would too if I learned that what I thought was reality actually wasn’t. 

It’s a very thrilling movie, a bit emotional as well – super funny and witty! (as funny or more than Age of Ultron, I’d say!) The computer effects are mind-blowiiing! The settings/scenery? are surreal! It’s a great visual experience, I enjoyed it very much. 

Plot-wise, I think it’s pretty good even though they used the disciple-turns-to-the-dark-side cliché. Mads Mikkelsen is great at playing intelligent, power-hungry villains. In fact, I think the whole cast in this movie is GREAT. Everyone just clicks really well together and their voices are actually great for their part! (I have a thing with voices…)

The only character I didn’t like very much was Christine. I think she was a bit unnecessary and only put in this movie to make Stephen Strange seem more human. (Though I have to say I didn’t read any of the marvel comics so I might be wrong and she’s an actual character from the comics, who knows.)

I don’t usually do movie reviews but I think I’d like to start doing more from now on. As you can see by review I’m not critiquing the movie per say – I am simply sharing my opinion. 

Leave a Reply

