Review: Attachments

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Synopse:

It’s 1999 and the internet is still a novelty. At a newspaper office, two colleagues, Beth and Jennifer, e-mail back and forth, discussing their lives in hilarious details, from love troubles to family dramas. And Lincoln, a shy IT guy responsible for monitoring e-mails, spends his hours reading every exchange.

At first their e-mails offer a welcome diversion, but the more he reads, the more he finds himself falling for one of them. By the time Lincoln realises just how head-over-heels he is, it’s too late to introduce himself.

After a series of close encounters, Lincoln eventually decides he must follow his heart… and find out if there is such a thing as love before first sight.

Read: Dec 18 – 20, 2016

Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

*there are minor spoilers in this review*

I bought this book because I’d heard so much about Rainbow Rowell that I just couldn’t resist the opportunity to finally read even though I hadn’t heard of it before. The synopsis seemed interesting enough and I thought why not? I don’t usually read this sort of book and I was afraid I wouldn’t like it.

I’m sad to say it didn’t meet my expectations, though I did enjoy reading it and don’t regret buying it.

The main character, Lincoln is an IT tech that reads the emails of Beth and Jennifer who are in a way main characters as well, but her POVs are shown in email format instead of actual narrative as it happens with Lincoln. Lincoln for almost the entire first half of the book was extremely insecure and still quite hung up on his ex girlfriend. He claimed he wanted to love again and be loved but he made virtually no attempts at trying to meet new people, or trying to change his lifestyle. For this reason, he infuriated me a bit and I dreaded every time it was his POV chapters and I honestly just wanted to get them over with quickly.

Beth and Jennifer were much livelier, optimistic and funny. They were just much brighter in general which was made me like them in the first place because I can relate to their personality. Another reason why I disliked Lincoln – he’s everything people don’t want to be in general – so as he grew as a person, I started liking him, and the whole book just became much more enjoyable to me. 

Admittedly, my only issue with this book was Lincoln and his negative personality. 

I found the different time interesting though. I was 2 years old in 1999 and I’ve lived surround by modern technology my entire life so people’s opinions on internet, computers and the general differences were sort of fascinating. The time difference was another factor that made me put this book on-hold for so long. 

I liked the plot. It was well-built, but to be honest that finale didn’t quite seem very realistic to me. For those who’ve read this book: I wouldn’t have done what Beth did. Probably.

 I don’t really recommend this book but I still plan on checking out other Rainbow Rowell books, such as Eleanor & Park, Fangirl (and later hopefully, Carry On because I’ve heard such great things about these two books)!

 

Leave a Reply

