Book Travelling Thursdays: First Read of 2017

This Thursday’s theme is With a new year come new books… Choose your first read of 2017!  Book Travelling Thursdays is a weekly meme created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog(Book Travelling Thursdays Goodreads group)

In the last few days of December I kept debating over this exact topic. I felt like it had to be a special book, or there had to be some sort of reason, but at the same time I thought that was silly. Why couldn’t it be some random book? And yet,  I struggled to choose one from the many unread books I own. However, I found one among my most recent book haul that really meant something to me. 

SO, for my first read of 2017 I chose: Spice & Wolf Light Novel Vol. 1

SpiceWolfv1_Jacket-prose.jpg

My history with the Spice & Wolf fandom goes back to around 2010, I believe, when I first started watching anime. It was one of my firsts and it has stuck with me since as one of my  ultimate favorites. I’ve already watched both seasons of the anime and read the first few chapters of the manga, and now I’m going to check out the Light Novel because I heard it was great. 

You can watch the FUNimation ENG dubbed trailer here (I couldn’t find a ENG subbed trailer). 

The life of a traveling merchant is a lonely one, a fact with which Kraft Lawrence is well acquainted. Wandering from town to town with just his horse, cart, and whatever wares have come his way, the peddler has pretty well settled into his routine-that is, until the night Lawrence finds a wolf goddess asleep in his cart. Taking the form of a fetching girl with wolf ears and a tail, Holo has wearied of tending to harvests in the countryside and strikes up a bargain with the merchant to lend him the cunning of “Holo the Wisewolf” to increase his profits in exchange for taking her along on his travels. What kind of businessman could turn down such an offer? Lawrence soon learns, though, that having an ancient goddess as a traveling companion can be a bit of a mixed blessing. Will this wolf girl turn out to be too wild to tame? 

This is the synopsis you can find on Goodreads and in spite of your opinion on this synopsis, I think everyone should give this story a chance. (At least, watch the trailer. )

I think it was the strong, intelligent, independent female character that made love this series so much, though Laurence is also a surprisingly nice guy (for a merchant). The mythological/fantasy parts of this story were also very interesting and enthralling and I’m hoping to find out more wonderful things about this story as I read the light novel. I heard the anime only covers the first four volumes or so and as we all know, the book is always richer in detail and important story elements that aren’t shown in the anime/tv/film adaptations.

The only thing I never enjoyed that much about this story was that there were some parts regarding the economy in their world that in my opinion was a little too in-depth sometimes. 

The Covers:

The one above is the cover of the copy I own which it to my knowledge the second cover of this book translated in English.

Originally, the first English version looked like the first image on the right. In the middle is the original cover in Japan and on the left is the cover of the first manga volume also in Japan. 

I quite like the cover of my edition. I thought I was going to receive the original English cover as that’s what’s on book depository but thank god I didn’t! I honestly hated it so much. I feel like it gives the story an overly sexual look. 

To sum up, I highly recommend this story, in whatever format, because it’s very interesting, endearing and pretty different from everything else that’s out there. 

Leave a Reply

