Movie Review: Arrival

Arrival

MV5BMTExMzU0ODcxNDheQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDE1OTI4MzAy._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,640,1000_AL_.jpg

 

  • Director: Denis Villeneuve
  • Writer: Eric Heisserer, Ted Chiang
  • Cast Included:  Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, Forest Whitaker, 
  • 1h56mins

When 12 mysterious spacecraft appear around the world, linguistics professor Louise Banks is tasked with interpreting the language of the apparent alien visitors.

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

 

 

 

Arrival was surprising, mind-blowing, intriguing and fascinating.  

I am usually not interested in watching movies with this sort of subject – by  which I simply mean ‘the arrival of aliens’. It is an overused theme and the outcome of these movies often end up with the aliens attacking the humans and/or vice versa. However, this movie focused on the work of translating – or to be more precise, on the work of translating an alien language into English. As a student in a Translation course, I was intrigued by this new idea.

In the beginning of the movie there’s a rather interesting quote on time that actually explains quite a bit after you’ve watched this movie. It’s mind-blowing as I’ve mentioned earlier – nothings is what it seems. The fact that this movie wasn’t at all predictable was one of the reasons I found it so enjoyable. Another thing was very interesting was the way they chose to make the aliens’ language…. and I found it even more interesting in the end of the movie when all was ‘explained’, so to speak.  

The earth governments were very well portrayed – by which I mean, they continuously debated whether to destroy/attack these ships and never communicated with each other very openly until the very end. How predictable of them. 

I didn’t like the ending that much, though. It wasn’t satisfying. I just thought there were would be something more….  but I have to admit I enjoyed watching this movie more than I anticipated.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Arrival

  1. I still haven’t had the chance to see this movie but I am very interested in the premise at this point. Though, lots of people have talked it up as well which mean it now has a lot to live up to. I’ll probably try to lower my expectations before I actually watch it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed the linguistics aspect of this movie, it’s an interesting take on science fiction that often goes ignored. Seeing an entire movie built around it was cool.

    I was really let down by the characters though. They all felt like blank slates who existed to service a cool idea someone had for a movie. I’m pretty surprised at the acclaim Amy Adams has gotten for her performance as I feel she’s been in much more versatile and interesting roles.

    Also, the third act was a bit of a mess. I just couldn’t buy that all it would take to stop the a country’s leader from fighting back against a perceived astronomical threat was a phonecall, and I agree the “twist” ending wasn’t wholly satisfying. Also that line about baby-making was pretty cringeworthy.

    I still think it’s a cool movie for its central idea, it just could have been elevated beyond that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

