Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Polarizing Books

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday’s theme is Favorite Polarizing Books: These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.

I’ve actually noticed this tendency with some books that I’ve read that almost everyone loves and I just don’t/ kind of hate. So these are my choices:

Although I didn’t completely hate these books, as I was reading them I was quite disappointed in them as they didn’t meet the expectations I had for such hyped books. 

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: This book was interesting yet dull at the same time because I only got seriously invested in in after the first 300 pages. Rating: 2 / 5 stars (Goodreads)

if i stay by Gayle Forman: This was another that simply wasn’t as interesting or as overall enjoyable as I expected and I frankly hate the main character because at the time I read it (a few years ago) I remember having this feeling that something wasn’t completely right about this girl. It’s not that I thought she was crazy or anything but I guess I just didn’t like the way she thought or acted. Rating:  3 / 5 stars (Goodreads)

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs:[my review] The first half of the book was dull, uneventful and some parts perhaps unnecessary – or perhaps the first half itself was unnecessarily long. Plus, I didn’t quite like the main character, at the least the way he started out. I am curious to watch the movie and see the mess they did there though, and I might read the other books (as ebooks) because I think the story and characters in general (perhaps even Jacob, who knows) are almost fascinating and have a lot of potential. Rating:  3.5 / 5 stars (Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

