Movie Review: Crimson Peak

Crimson Peak 

crimsonpeak.jpg

  • Director: Guillermo del Toro
    • Writer: Guillermo del Toro, Matthew Robbins
    • Cast Included:  Jessica Chastain, Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska
    • 1h59mins

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, an aspiring author is torn between love for her childhood friend and the temptation of a mysterious outsider. Trying to escape the ghosts of her past, she is swept away to a house that breathes, bleeds – and remembers.

Rating: 2 / 5

 

 

This is the kind of movie that has great actors, a great director/writers and a great trailer but ultimately is not a great movie at all. 

To put it simply, this movie was disappointing. My expectations weren’t very high to begin with but it was predictable and dull towards the end. I considered stopping just as there were about 10 mins to the final because I didn’t care that much anymore. I just wanted it to be over. 

It starts mildly interesting, though the pacing until the first forty minutes was slow and a bit tiring. I just kept thinking ‘when is this movie really going to start?’. The whole ‘ghosts are real’ premise was kind of interesting at first and I thought it had potential but it didn’t meet my expectations.

After a point, the finale became clear. This movie was in general very predictable. I predicted most things that were supposed to be surprising or shocking. The characters were predictable as well and although I liked Edith very much, I think she was a bit too gullible. 

I don’t recommend this movie at all. Don’t watch it, it’ll be a waste of your time. 

Leave a Reply

