Review: Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

fotografia 2.JPG

Synopsis

Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry’s eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

Read: Dec 11 – 17 2016

Rating: 4.5 / 5

** This review will be a bit different from what I usually do because I’m not going into detail on how the plot/writing/characters are great because most of the people reading this know that already.**

When I was little I watched the Harry Potter movies as they came out and I loved them but I had no idea they were based in books. Later I learned, of course, but it wasn’t until June 2016 that I actually bought the first two books – and it wasn’t until last month that I finally read Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone.

Book are always richer in detail than the movie adaptations – that is a fact. In this case, I’ve watched all the Harry Potter movies several times before reading the first book and I noticed the difference. However, I’m glad I watched the movie first. Despite its flaws it’s merely a ‘perspective’ of a wonderful book. 

For someone who had already seen the movie and knew what was going to happen, I thought it would be difficult to get into this book in the beginning at least, but I was wrong.

This book was gripping and it was a wonderful read for me. It was like discovering ‘new’ Harry Potter details and things that happened in a different order in the films. Of course, I think it’s much better than the movie and after I finished it I watched the movie (literally on the same day) and I kept pointing out to my mom all the things they did differently. 

Some thoughts: 

  • This has always been my least favorite of the Harry Potter movies, but reading the book has made me like this story more. 
  • It was really cool to find out all that magical stuff Harry had accidentally done before releasing that snake in the zoo. 
  • I wish Percy and the twins had more ‘active’ roles in the movies. Although, since I am going to continue reading the books, I guess I’m going to get to ‘see’ them more.
  • I picture the quidditch game just like it was in the movie. I really, really like that scene. I hope they put some quidditch in the following Fantastic Beasts movies. 
  • The conflict scenes in the Philosopher’s Stone movie could’ve been a little more similar to the books, I think. I mean, it was mostly the Devil Snare scene – but how hard could it be to make it like the original? (I sound like an angry fan but I’m not.) 

So basically, what I’m trying to say is, reading this book has only made me love the HP characters/movies/story/etc more and I expect that as I read the other books this feeling will only increase. I’m really excited to read the next book!!

 

Leave a Reply

