Movie Review: Rogue One – A Star Wars Story

Rogue One – A Star Wars Story

  • rogueone.jpgDirector: Gareth Edwards
  • Writer: Chris Weitz, Tony Gilroy
  • Cast Included:  Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Alan Tudyk, Forest Whitaker
  • 2h13mins

The Rebel Alliance makes a risky move to steal the plans for the Death Star, setting up the epic saga to follow.

Rating: 4 / 5

 

 

 

This  movie was surprisingly good! For some reason I wasn’t that excited about this movie. Perhaps it was because of the first teaser trailers that came out or something to do with the completely new characters but I just wasn’t as excited as I was to The Force Awakens. But I decided to give it a shot because it’s Star Wars and it’s Disney and sometimes you gotta have a little faith. 

(The movie theater in which I watched this movie was absolutely horrible. The seats were super uncomfortable and my seat was close enough to the screen that I had to make an effort to read the subtitles – at some point I just gave up because I don’t really need them.) 

I saw a lot of negative criticism regarding this movie and some of it was because of its duration. It was too long, to be more precise. But honestly, I think this movie is thoroughly well-made. The pacing, the beginning, middle, end structure was very well done and the action on Scarif – a.k.a. the conflict – was all fantastic. So the duration was just great.

I didn’t dislike any particular characters from this movie aside from the guys from the Empire and The Council (they were cowardly jerks if you ask me and I don’t care if they had a lot to lose).  I liked Jyn a lot more than I was expecting to because she’s kinder than I thought she would be –  and strong, smart and independent too.  My favorite character was definitely K-2 though. His brutally honest comments were the best and I can sort of relate to that (though not on that level). The voice actor, Alan Tudyk, did a great job!

To sum up, I think this was an amazing movie and I’m really liking these new Star Wars movies in which the main characters are girls without obvious love interests. I strongly recommend this movie to any Star Wars fans who might be unsure about it – and to everyone else, of course. I strongly believe you won’t regret it. 

 

Leave a Reply

