Top 5 Wednesday : Current Favorites That Aren’t Books

I can’t believe it’s February already!! Soon I’ll have to start classes again and won’t have enough time to do anything… but first, here’s this week’s Top 5 Wednesday’s theme:  Current Favorites that Aren’t Books – Sometimes it’s nice to take a break from books and talk about some other things you’ve been obsessed with. These all don’t have to be in the same category. Mix it up! What TV shows have you been enjoying, makeup you’ve been wearing, food you’ve been eating….. 

It was hard to choose just five things and not choose books, to be honest.(Although, I struggled to not choose five types of food.) 


1 – Emerald City

I’ve been watching only a few series lately and one of my favorites, the one I look forward to every week is the new The Wizard of Oz  adaptation – Emerald City. 

I didn’t really like the original story. It was a nice but it just wasn’t my thing and Emerald City is much darker and mysterious and I am loving it so far. 


 

2 – Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Saga

I really liked the anime when it first came out (six years ago, I think?) and subsequently the manga. I don’t read manga that often as I usually prefer the anime but since there was no second season in sight (especially after that awful filler arc that was the finale of the anime) I started reading it. I loved the Kyoto saga and now that’s it’s finally animated I’m looking forward to a new episode every week. 

It’s been slightly disappointing only because there hasn’t been that much action yet but from what I recall after a point there will be loads of action! There’s only 4 episodes out yet though so I’m sure it will improve. (Here’s a trailer by Aniplex, from youtube):


3 –  Movies In General, I guess?

This month I’ve been watching a lot of animated movies – Disney and Ghibli movies mostly. It’s been a bit cold where I live lately so I’ve been in bed watching a lot of movies – Disney and Ghibli movies mostly – with a cup of tea and cookies. 

My favorite Ghibli movies are Howl’s Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away. (Basically, the Holy Trinity of Ghibli but what can I say they’re really good, though I also love My Neighbor Totoro and Kiki’s Delivery Service, though I love pretty much all the Ghibli movies I’ve watched except The Wind Rises). 

I can barely even choose Disney favorites but here’s some of the ones I watched in January: Moana, Zootopia, Mulan, Aladin….

Other awesome movies I watched this month were: Mune – Guardian of The MoonBrooklyn, The Danish Girl, Pan and Spotlight. 


4 – Tea & Rice crackers

I’ve been drinking a lot of green tea with raspberry and pomegranate lately (as in maybe half a liter a day) and  eating a lot of rice crackers (this kind of rice cracker by the way). I’ve been eating these mainly because I’ve found them really cheap and you know, because they taste really – otherwise I wouldn’t have no matter how healthy or not they are. 


5 – My Trip To Paris

As some of you might already know, I spent 5 days in Paris this month. It was such a wonderful, magical (because Disneyland ) and cold trip! The cold aside, I really loved going there and it was such a great experience. I stayed with a great friend of mine who studied there in the last semester.

Paris is very beautiful but it was pretty similar to Lisbon in some parts so it wasn’t though as I felt hugely homesick or felt some sort of cultural shock. I studied France in History classes and going to some places was a kind of throwback to those classes. I guess it was a nostalgic city in general… It just gave me that feeling, I guess. 

Instasize_0130120227.jpg

We went to the Sacré-Coeur Basilica, to the Arc de Triomphe, to the Eiffel Tower (sadly the top was closed), to the Champs-Élysées (bought a really cute, comfy sweater on H&M which is now my favorite sweater), to the Palace and gardens of Versailles, to Disneyland and to the Notre-Dame Cathedral.  (And we ate a lot of crepes with ice cream and nutella in Amorino because it was the loveliest and warmest of places – and their ice cream is the best, let’s be honest.) We even went to the Shakespeare and Company Bookstore twice! They have a piano upstairs and a very friendly and adorable cat with really soft fur!! 

DSC_0525 (1).JPG

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Current Favorites That Aren’t Books

Leave a Reply

