Movie Review: Passengers

Passengers

passengers

  • Director: Morten Tyldum
  • Writer: Jon Spaihts
  • Cast Included: Chris Pratt, Jenniffer Lawrence, Michael Sheen
  • 1h56mins

A spacecraft traveling to a distant colony planet and transporting thousands of people has a malfunction in its sleep chambers. As a result, two passengers are awakened 90 years early.

Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

 

 

 

 

Although this movie was a bit disappointing I enjoyed it quite a bit.  It’s another one of those movies with great actors and great trailers that builds up your expectations. To be honest, I like Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence a lot from several of their previous movies so part of this disappointment is on me, though I guess people don’t go to the movies when they have low expectations. 

This is the basic ‘alone on a deserted island’ plot except it’s set on a spaceship that can fulfill your every need. I’m not entirely sure I would do what Jim did or that I wouldn’t because I can’t possibly imagine what it’s like to be alone like that. So I’m not going to start ranting about what’s right/wrong with what he did. 

To a certain extent this movie was surprising and enjoyable but the first half was a little too uneventful. The second half was definitely more interesting (and more enjoyable) but the little clues that were placed to hint at the conflict/problem were mainly set in this part and that sort of bad pacing is very irritating (especially if the movie theater you went to actually makes a break in the middle of the movie accentuating this).  

I actually liked the main characters a lot. Aurora, in particular seemed really interesting and I kind of wanted to read that book she was writing about her time on the Avalon. 

I didn’t feel that satisfied with the conflict/problem at first but then I just sort got caught up in the action I guess and ended up enjoying it a lot. I loved the finale when they showed what the ship looked like 90 years later. It just made me so excited about what exploring the ship would be like. I really wanted to see how nature had evolved and adapted in that sort of environment. 

In general I enjoyed this movie but from the trailer I was expecting a bit more action. I don’t regret watching it at all but I don’t think I’ll be re watching it or buying the DVD any time soon.

Leave a Reply

