T5W: books to get you out of a reading slump

This Wednesday’s theme is books to get you out of a reading slump! 

In my case, the books that almost always get me out of a reading slump are my favorite books – though not all of my favorite books can get me out of a reading slump. 


 

 

  1. Looking for Alaska has always been one of my favorites and I’ve already reread three times at least and it never fails to be a gripping page-turner. 
  2. City of Bones is the beginning of an epic saga and it never fails to get me excited about reading again – especially since Cassandra Clare’s writing is so fantastic.
  3. I’ve only just read Stormdancer recently (like July of 2016) but I sometimes consult it for my writing and it gets me excited about reading (more Jay Kristoff books – but hey, it makes me want to read nonetheless).
  4. Marked has always been one of my childhood favorites and although I now realize it has some issues that I never noticed when I was younger, it’s definitely gotten me out of reading slumps before. 

Nowadays, I don’t get into reading slumps as much as before (perhaps because my TBR is full of apparently amazing books that I’m super excited to read and love – because I just know I’m going to love them). Honestly, to break out of a reading slump you just have to sit down and read even if you’re not that excited about that book – you can always stop if you don’t like it anyway. 

Leave a Reply

