Thoughts On: Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets – book and movie

Harry Potter  & The Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

DSC_0641.JPG

Read: Feb 6 – 10, 2016

Rating: 4 / 5

*warning: spoilers below the cut and possible rant* 

Chamber of Secrets was never one of my favorite Harry Potter stories/movies/ and when I was a kid I actually thought it was even a little scary. I was really surprised at how much I liked the book and I was also really  surprised at how bad  the movie is compared to the original. 

There are always scenes that have to be cut because there simply isn’t enough time in a movie. I understand why some weren’t selected but at the same time there were so many wonderful scenes and dialogue lines that should’ve been included. 

For example,

  • Harry spends a month with the Weasleys (not a night) after Ron and the twins rescue him with the flying car.
  • Harry tells Ron and Hermione about Dobby and although that might’ve been a redundant moment in the movie, it would also make sense. 
  • Lucius Malfoy and Arthur Weasley go at it in the bookstore Florish and Blotts. (Lucius Malfoy gets hit in the eye with the Encyclopedia of Toadstools !) 
  • (The interesting facts about mandrake growth were very amusing but I get they weren’t all that relevant to the story compared to some other parts).
  • The time out during the Slytherin vs Gryffindor quidditch match when Fred and George want to help Harry with the rogue bludger. (Definitely one of my favorite moments)

 

I watched the movie a few days after finishing the book and I thought it was rather disappointing – and although I will forever love the Harry Potter movies, I think I’m going to have to think of the movies and the books separately as I continue to read the books or else I won’t be able to enjoy them anymore (though I’ll never think about them the same way again.) 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On: Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets – book and movie

  1. I always really disliked the movie adaptation of this book because the reveal at the end makes no sense. In the novel, we get hints almost every other chapter that something is wrong and who is feeling worried about something but almost all of these are cut from the film. It just makes the movie fairly senseless to people who haven’t already read the book. The book however is one of my favourite in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in the middle of my Harry Potter re-read—well, I say middle, I’ve re-read Philosopher’s Stone, and am yet to move onto the next. It’s a very slow process. I quite liked the film adaption, but then again, that was before I read the books (and I first read the books 7 years ago), so it’s all a little hazy. I’m sure with the re-read I’ll think different.

    Like

Leave a Reply

