Movie Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2016)

MV5BMTU0Nzc5NzI5NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTk1MDE4MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,798,1000_AL_.jpg

 

  • Director: Tim Burton
  • Writer: Ransom Riggs (based upon the novel written by), Jane Goldman (screenplay)
  • Cast Included: Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Samuel L. Jackson
  • 2h 7 mins

 

Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

 

 

In spite of its numerous flaws, I enjoyed watching this movie  (to my surprise). My expectations weren’t very high. I was aware of a few major changes to the story from watching the trailer and so I was actually expecting to dislike it a lot more. 

Some changes to the story weren’t all that bad. The fact that they reduced the time Jacob spent in Florida was something I was thankful for since it took about the first half of the book.  The fact that they switched two whole characters, though – including not only their powers,appearances and personalities but also their role in this story – is infuriating. The change between Olive and Emma allows a more visually-appealing perhaps, but in terms of background and staying true to the original story in general – it fails. Considering all the changes, I think there might not be a sequel (and I strongly hope not).

The finale was frustrating (though I do understand a few of the changes might’ve been due to the budget and/or continuity of the story?) I enjoyed the modern element but there a few changes made solely for movie purposes that are just irritating. (For example, hollowgasts cannot enter loops – which would’ve been a problem for the fight scene in the movie – and therefore, it was simply ignored.) 

I don’t think people who love the book will like the movie very much, but it might be enjoyable if you weren’t a huge fan of the book in the first place. However, I don’t think I’ll be re-watching this movie or buying the DVD any time soon.

One thought on “Movie Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

