Review: Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905.jpg

  • stand-alone novel
  • Read:  March 16 – 24, 2017
  • Rating: 4.5  stars 

[Goodreads] : 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life-and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving. Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to. Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone. For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

 

fotografia 2.JPG

Review: 

Fangirl hit me by surprise. I didn’t expect to love this book as much as I did, nor did I expect to relate to Cath as much as I did. It definitely made me see some things from a new perspective. 

The characters in this book are very realistic (maybe except Levi who always felt a little too perfect despite his flaws) and they go through serious, real life struggles (which I will not list not to spoil anyone). I loved to read about a character who loves to write. 

The plot seems simple and harmless/sweet at first, a little dull even, but it’s so much more than that (and not dull at all). I was hooked by the first chapter.  The superb writing of Rainbow Rowell helped, of course.  I love how Rainbow Rowell created the character Simon Snow as an homage to J.K. Rowling. She inserted some short passages from the fictional books of Simon Snow at the end of each chapter that go really well with this story. (I can’t wait to read Carry On!) 

In overall, I thoroughly enjoyed and loved this book with all my heart. It was endearing and heartbreaking even, and I wish there was more. I think everyone in this day and age who can relate to being a fangirl and/or writing fanfiction would love to read this book. 

2 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl

  1. I really loved this book, way more than I expected to. I agree, that at the start it seems fairly harmless and dull at the beginning but Cath just draws you in as a character and I ended up really caring about her and all of the characters in this story. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mid-year update of 2017 ! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

