Regarding Reviews & Writing

I’ve really come to enjoy writing reviews in these past few months since I created this blog. I  really like reading reviews before I buy certain books I’m not sure I’ll like. So, I like to share my views on the books I read and I always try to mention the main aspects, such as characters, plot, writing, ending and the general feel I got from the book. Sometimes I focus more on one aspect than the other, depending on the book, and even I feel like my reviews of books I love sometimes are a bit chaotic – or at least the first draft since I tend to edit those even more to try to make them look  like they were written by a person who has actual coherent thoughts.  (To be honest,  at this point in my life as reader I think I’ve already developed a sort of sixth sense when it comes to books. It’s been a long time since I’ve actually bought a book that I didn’t like. I think the last book I regret buying was Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. I didn’t hate it but I regret buying it when I could’ve used that money to buy a better book.) 

I’ve been studying English since I was around 8 years old and I’ve always been good at it – possibly because unlike my native language there aren’t at least seven different ways of conjugating a verb. I know that I’ll probably never be as good at it as a native (though as we can all tell from the internet, there are some natives who don’t speak their own language very well but that’s something that happens in every language, of course, it’s not specific to English.) It doesn’t really bother me that much that I’ll never get to that stage because I speak three languages fluently ( well, french only semi-fluently) and I’ currently learning Japanese (and I might also try to learn Spanish because it’s pretty similar to Portuguese and most Portuguese people can understand if not speak it without taking classes). However, it still bothers me sometimes when I read other people’s reviews and creative writing and I see some expressions or words that I know but don’t use often that could have made my own writing better. In a way, I think this blog can also help me improve little by little. I’m always trying to improve my writing (mostly in terms of creative writing) and whenever I look back at my old stuff I always think it’s really bad – and it scares me to think that maybe one day I’ll look back and think the same about my current writing. There’s always room to improve and learn new things and I’m still young (I mean I’m 19 – turning 20 in June). (So I need to stop being so hard on myself sometimes – also because I have other things going on and don’t always have time to write). 

What I guess I’m trying to do with this post is  to remind myself that I (and everyone else for that matter) need to stop comparing myself and my writing to others because we’re all different people with different cultural backgrounds and life stories. [I used to think it was ridiculous when people mixed their, there and they’re – and now I think that maybe that person’s native language isn’t English – maybe it’s a language with a completely different writing system like Korean; or maybe they are native speakers and they have serious real life problems going on and just don’t care about grammar because it’s not that important. ]

One thought on “Regarding Reviews & Writing

  1. There are several things in this post I very much feel you about. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought that Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children was somewhat overhyped, though not awful. And I understand what you mean about complicated native languages – my native language has about a million ways to conjugate verbs and about a million ways to inflect the inexplicably gendered nouns… English feels almost refreshingly straightforward in comparison. And I too catch myself admiring other people’s use of vocabulary, wishing that was me writing like that. Hopefully, blogging is truly a road to improvement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

