Review: The Raven King & The King’s Men

The Raven King & The King’s Men, by Nora Sakavic

[ You can find the ebooks for The Raven King and The King’s Men for $0.99 each in Smashwords and Amazon. You can also purchase the physical editions on ebay or Amazon, but sadly they’re frigging expensive and they’re not available on Book Depository. ]

*This review may contain spoilers if you haven’t read the previous book.* 

  • Prequel: The Foxhole Court  [Review]
  • Rating: 5 / 5 stars 
  • Read: May 4th-6th, 2017
  • All For The Game Trilogy books #2 and #3
  • Goodreads : [TRK] [TKM]

 

Review:

Often in fantasy novels, it’s about saving the world or a country, or preventing some tragedy in general and there’s simply not enough time or words for the characters to shine and reach their full potential most of the time. 

The Raven King and The King’s Men are character-driven stories just as TFC was and that was the main reason why I loved it so much. The plot is strong and clear from the beginning but it’s the character interactions and the progress of the relationships between them that make the story go forward ( and into our hearts.)

Let me be clear though: these books get real, very quickly and aren’t for people easily triggered. There’s a lot of sensitive themes in these books, such as abuse, self-harm, rape, murder, torture, trauma and drug abuse. (I’m not sure I got them all, actually.)

The growth of these characters is steady and believable, not to mention frigging palpable. They grow, change and are generally affected by everything that happens to them and I love to see that well-portrayed in a book. I think it’s mostly noticeable with Neil, Andrew and Kevin (though I also want to add Aaron even though it’s not as strong). These characters are also the one who’ve suffered the most so it’s only natural that they would be the ones that changed the most. (Also, my favorite characters except for Aaron – and let’s maybe add Renee, and Allison?)

Reading these books was a roller coaster of emotions. I went from feeling happy and warmth to terrified the next (especially in The King’s Men) and I couldn’t put them down – and I still can’t stop thinking about them.

These books became one of my favorite trilogies as soon as I read the first book and although I was spoiled about some of the contents of these books (which made me even more excited to read them), I think they are beautifully written, strong and important. I think everyone who reads them will think the same. I strongly recommend everyone to read these books.

Favorite Quote/Scene, from The Raven King:  (Neil to Riko)

“You know, I get it,” Neil said. “Being raised as a superstar must be really, really difficult for you. Always a commodity, never a human being, not a single person in your family thinking you’re worth a damn off the court – yeah, sounds rough. Kevin and I talk about your intricate and endless daddy issues all the time.

“Neil,” Kevin said, low and frantic.

Neil ignored him. “I know it’s not entirely your fault that you are mentally unbalanced and infected with these delusions of grandeur, and I know you’re physically incapable of holding a decent conversation with anyone like every other normal human being can, but I don’t think any of us should have to put up with this much of your bullshit. Pity only gets you so many concessions, and you used up yours about six insults ago. So please, please, just shut the fuck up and leave us alone.” 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Raven King & The King’s Men

  1. Pingback: Mid-year update of 2017 ! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

  2. Pingback: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads: | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

