Review: A Court of Wings & Ruin

A Court of Wings & Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

 

  • Read:  May 16-17, 2017
  • Rating:  5  stars
  • [Goodreads]

My Review: 

I loved this book. I read the around-700 pages in 2 days and I think that might be a personal record. 

I loved all the new characters and all the character interactions that ensued; I loved all the high lords except for Beron and Tamlin. I loved Cassian and Nesta and the slow-building relationship  between and was pleasantly surprised by the interactions of Nesta and Elain sisters with everyone else. I think things progressed smoothly in terms of character development and unlike some, I don’t think character growth/interactions were sacrificed for the sake of moving the plot forward, though ACOWAR was a more plot-driven novel than the other two, I’d say. 

The plot was tangible, the conflict and all things related were clear, tangible and they made sense – which is what I love in a plot. I loved the first part at the Spring Court, and the meeting and everything leading up to the final conflict/part/thing (no spoilers) was kind of nerve-wracking but I loved how it ended. (Except that bit at the tent when my heart nearly stopped).

I’m definitely looking forward to reading more from this world but I don’t feel the same as I did after I read ACOMAF. It won’t be a painful wait until next year when the next book comes out because this one was very satisfying – but of course, I am intrigued by the next book.  This book gave the distinct feeling of it being a sort of finale, though I’m aware that there are going to be at least 2 more books. [I have a few theories that I’ll post later.]

In short, ACOWAR is everything I expected, wanted and needed. It’s action-packed, fast-paced and has lots of strong, witty, lovable characters with easily hated villains, and a compelling plot. I’ll probably be rereading it again this summer.

 

One thought on “Review: A Court of Wings & Ruin

  1. Pingback: Mid-year update of 2017 ! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

