Review: The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

13516154

  • Read: July 2015 / May-June 2017
  • Rating:  5 stars
  • [Goodreads]

My Review:

This book is a wonderful, epic tale of love and tragedy in Ancient Greece. I absolutely adore it; it’s one of my all time favorites. 

The main characters are Patroclus (narrator and most precious boy of all time #1) and Achilles (most precious boy of all time #2) and it focuses mostly on their lives and their relationship, following some of the events of The Iliad (I haven’t read The Iliad yet so I cannot say for sure if it follows it closely or not).

It’s a bit slow in the beginning and it was hard for me to get into it the first time I read it, but soon enough I was hooked. I may have cried more the second time I read it, to be honest.  

TSOA is heartbreaking, soul-wrenching even, and beautifully written at all times. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with such amazing and beautiful writing. 

The finale is sad, and painful but at the same time it’s almost satisfying. The very last sentence definitely makes anyone smile and cry even more. 

 

One thought on “Review: The Song of Achilles

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up ! | The Portuguese Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

