Camp NaNoWriMo July 2017 !

Camp NaNoWriMo, one of my favorite times of the year

 

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header.jpg

 

It’s that wonderful time of the year again when lots of writers all over the world band together over a common deadline and try to be incredibly productive in 30 days. [ My username’s RG_YN, feel free to DM me there if you want to start a cabin! ]

I’ve been participating in Camp NaNoWriMo for a few years and I’ve always preferred it over NaNoWriMo. The atmosphere feels better somehow, the idea and concept more welcoming than the ‘real thing’. 

I decided to participate not with a specific project but with the goal of writing every day. (Preferably, writing 500 words or more every day since I’ve set 15 000 words my word goal for the month and that’s the minimum words that I have to write every day to achieve it.)

As I mentioned in my previous blog post [ June Wrap Up ], in the last few days of June it felt really good to finally be able to write regularly. Camp is usually a really fun and productive time for me, so I’m going to try to keep that feeling and that productivity going and see if I can write more. 


First Day Update,

I just passed my daily word goal and it took me way longer than I wish it had, way longer than it usually takes me to write that amount of words. I remember last year’s Camp, in April, (my most successful yet) – I had an outline and I loved that story and I just… wrote. At the end of the first day I had 3000+ words. 

It’s not easy to get into the rhythm. I can’t just start writing. I like to have a basic outline of the scene I’m going to write or a base feeling but even then it’s hard to get into it… But if I keep at it I’m sure it’ll get easier. (I’m also kind of nervous because I really want to succeed!)

(I’m going to post weekly updates of Camp instead of daily ones like I usually do in tumblr).


To all the writers out there, are you participating in Camp this July? Tell me about your projects and what you think of this event! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

