Review: The Rose & The Dagger

The Rose & The Dagger by Reneé Ahdieh

fotografia 1 (1).JPG

This book was exciting, perhaps even more than the first. I probably didn’t love it as much as the first for the sole reason that it was not as focused on Shahrzad and Khalid’s relationship (though they had a few moments…..). This book was more about the ‘big picture’. It had a few more point of views and introduced a few more characters that would eventually play a big part in the conflict/resolution. I didn’t enjoy all the new character POVs. I do like the kind of information it provided most of the time, but some were maybe a bit unnecessary.

I didn’t enjoy all the new character POVs. I do like the kind of information it provided most of the time, but some were maybe a  bit unnecessary. I loved getting to know more of Rahim and Ilsa, and even Artan, though I think he could’ve had a much better character development and involvement in the story. His story and his family’s had the potential for so much more. I’d love to get a new book focusing on him (and I’d love to learn more about the Fire Temple). 

The plot was… a bit predictable? It was interesting and I really enjoyed reading this book because I LOVE SHAZI AND KHALID, but I was hoping for something different. Jahandar as a character and as a father is disappointing and most of his actions (even the one at the very end) were very predictable (and despicable). 

The finale was satisfying but I can’t help but want more of Shazi and Khalid. Still, it was a thoroughly enjoyable book with lots of action and cool magic that kept me glued to the page for hours on end. I strongly recommend it. 

Leave a Reply

