Upcoming Releases with Gorgeous Covers You’ll Want to Read!

Are you the kind of person who (*occasionally*) buys books solely because they’re pretty? Well, you’ve come to the right place! Prepare to add another nine gorgeous books to your TBR!

Frankly, I don’t even know that much about most of these books, nor will I comment much about the plot in this post, as this is just about giving some love to these beautiful covers and also I’ve linked all the illustrators and artists involved in making them!

Though I am really looking forward to Six Crimson Cranes (I got an ARC!) and Iron Widow! (I’m legit dying to read this one, you have no idea, but I can’t even request it on Netgalley, only wish for it?!)


*Technically I’ve already read The Ones We’re Meant to Find, and it was published last week, but the cover is just too beautiful not to add it to this post! I’ve recently posted my review if you’re interested in finding out what I thought about this book, you can find the link in the sidebar. Cover art by illustrator Aykut Aydoğdu (@aykutmaykut).

Also, those are indeed TWO beautiful covers for Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim! (UK and US cover, respectively). I just recently got approved for an ARC and I’m seriously considering reading it later this week. Cover art by Kelly C. (@afterblossom_art) for the UK edition, and Tran Nguyen (@mynameistran) for the US cover, respectively.

In the Ravenous Dark is described as “a pansexual blood mage reluctantly teams up with an undead spirit to start a rebellion among the living and the dead.” So, if the cover didn’t immediately make you want to read this book, I’m sure that will. Cover design by Natalie C. Sousa (@nataliecsousa). (Also, it’s still available to request on Netgalley UK!)

Iron Widow is a Chinese-inspired sci-fi story that’s very similar in premise to the Japanese anime Darling in the Franxx. The author says: “Iron Widow is 400 pages of female fury, conducted through giant mecha designed after East Asian myth creatures, inspired by the rise of Wu Zetian, the only female emperor in Chinese history.” Hands-down the book I’m looking forward to the most at the moment. Cover illustration by Ashley Mackenzie (@ashleymackenzieillustration) and do check out her IG for the complete illustration of the red bird on the cover. (Available to request through NetGalley.com – Penguin Random House Canada).

Wings of Shadow is actually the third book in the Crown of Flames series by Nicki Pau Preto, but this gorgeous cover was what made me notice this series in the first place. *I started reading Crown of Feathers as soon as I finished writing this post yesterday – and I could not stop! (It’s about found-family, two sisters in a warring, unjust world, and phoenix riders… you should definitely check it out! obviously… Cover artwork by Kekai Kotaki (@kekai_kotaki) and cover design by Tiara Iandiorio, a designer at Simon & Schuster (could not find a public/artistic profile, only a linkedin account).

Go on, take a moment to appreciate the intricate design of these covers, the gold accents, the patterns… Pure beauty! The cover for Within These Wicked Walls by Lauren Blackwood was designed by the Wednesday Books design team (@wednesday_design), and the artist Palesa (@palezsa).

The Ivory Key is giving me very magical vibes just by seeing this colorful cover! The author describes it as a “YA fantasy about four dysfunctional royal siblings who must go on an Indiana Jones-esque quest to find a mythical key hidden by a secret society.” Cover by Doaly (@_doaly) and Dani Li (@danalidesign / dana-li.com). Also, despite only being published in January 2022, The Ivory Key is already available to request on NetGalley UK!

You need to check out the GR or author pages for the best resolution images of these covers because wordpress cannot do this justice! Both The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea and A Magic Steeped in Poison look like very magical, fairy-tale inspired stories and give me an ethereal, but also something-darker-lurking-within kind of vibes.

Fiercereads says: Axie Oh’s The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale “The Tale of Shim Cheong,” perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away. Cover by artist Kuri Huang (@kuri_huang).

A Magic Steeped in Poison is Judi I. Lin’s debut novel and I am absolutely in love with this cover, probably my favorite out of all of these, and I may have written this entire post just so I could gush about it, there I said it. Whoops. Cover art by artist sijahongart (@sijahongart).


You can find the Goodreads link bellow:

9 thoughts on “Upcoming Releases with Gorgeous Covers You’ll Want to Read!

  1. Thank you for sharing these. These covers are absolutely stunning! I’ve had my eye on Crimson Crane for a bit and now adding Iron Widow to my list as well

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s