ARC Review: The Women of Troy by Pat Barker

Following her bestselling, critically acclaimed The Silence of the Girls, Pat Barker continues her extraordinary retelling of one of our greatest myths.

Troy has fallen. The Greeks have won their bitter war. They can return home victors, loaded with their spoils: their stolen gold, stolen weapons, stolen women. All they need is a good wind to lift their sails.

But the wind does not come. The gods have been offended – the body of Priam lies desecrated, unburied – and so the victors remain in limbo, camped in the shadow of the city they destroyed, pacing at the edge of an unobliging sea. And, in these empty, restless days, the hierarchies that held them together begin to fray, old feuds resurface and new suspicions fester.

Largely unnoticed by her squabbling captors, Briseis remains in the Greek encampment. She forges alliances where she can – with young, dangerously naïve Amina, with defiant, aged Hecuba, with Calchus, the disgraced priest – and begins to see the path to a kind of revenge. Briseis has survived the Trojan War, but peacetime may turn out to be even more dangerous…

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Women of Troy by Pat Barker”

[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  • Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
  • Publishing Date: July 13, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison”

ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Goodreads: Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim”

June Wrap Up //2021

June was actually the perfect month. It has been a long while since I felt this happy, relaxed, and enjoyed life while simultaneously being super productive wow. June and Summer are fk magic.

I spent so much time with family, ate some Good Food, went to some art exhibits, went to the beach, the library … also bought more than a few books, but no regrets!

Continue reading “June Wrap Up //2021”

[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

  • Genre: Young Adult Horror
  • Publishing date: June 29th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies. 
 
In the next few hours, one of three things will happen. 
 
1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely) 
 

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe) 
 
3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent) 

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right. 

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything. 

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive. 

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos”

[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review

  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
  • Publishing Date: June 8, 2021
  • Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review”

Anticipated Releases of 2021: June to September

Hello, hello! Welcome to the second part of my list of anticipated releases for 2021! This time I’ve narrowed it down to only 8 books because I’m frankly not that excited about that many Summer books. Most of my anticipated releases of this year have already been published, and from my first list of anticipated releases of 2021, I have only read 4 out of 13 (though I’ve bought 4 others that are just waiting for me to read it).

Continue reading “Anticipated Releases of 2021: June to September”

May Wrap Up //2021

Hello friends! Frankly, May was a rather exhausting month and an unpleasant month. I didn’t feel as motivated to read, and in the last two weeks, I’ve only read manga. Still, I did feel much more creative towards my blog and finally went to the cinema to see a movie! (It’s been soooo long! It was A Quiet Place II).

On another note, my internship has finally ended, and I’ve received some awesome feedback. I might even be getting the opportunity to work for them professionally in the future so I’m very happy right now. It had its bad, frustrating moments, and I’m so glad it’s over so I can rest for a few days, but I truly enjoyed the work I did.

June is my favorite month because it’s my birthday month!! Now that I have more free time I’ll probably be going out a few times, buying way too many books as usual, and hopefully, I’ll get to relax and rest too, I am exhausted. (Though I have to start working on my internship report as well…) I’m sure it’s just going to be great!

Continue reading “May Wrap Up //2021”

ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]

Goodreads// The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Continue reading “ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]”

Review: Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto

Goodreads// I had a sister, once… In a world ruled by fierce warrior queens, a grand empire was built upon the backs of Phoenix Riders—legendary heroes who soared through the sky on wings of fire—until a war between two sisters ripped it all apart.

I promised her the throne would not come between us. Sixteen years later, Veronyka is a war orphan who dreams of becoming a Phoenix Rider from the stories of old. After a shocking betrayal from her controlling sister, Veronyka strikes out alone to find the Riders—even if that means disguising herself as a boy to join their ranks.

But it is a fact of life that one must kill or be killed. Rule or be ruled. Just as Veronyka finally feels like she belongs, her sister turns up and reveals a tangled web of lies between them that will change everything. And meanwhile, the new empire has learned of the Riders’ return and intends to destroy them once and for all.

Sometimes the title of queen is given. Sometimes it must be taken.

Continue reading “Review: Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto”