[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  • Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
  • Publishing Date: July 13, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison”

ARC Review: Majesty by Katharine McGee

Goodreads // Is America ready for its first queen? Power is intoxicating. Like first love, it can leave you breathless. Princess Beatrice was born with it. Princess Samantha was born with less. Some, like Nina Gonzalez, are pulled into it. And a few will claw their way in. Ahem, we’re looking at you Daphne Deighton.

As America adjusts to the idea of a queen on the throne, Beatrice grapples with everything she lost when she gained the ultimate crown. Samantha is busy living up to her “party princess” persona…and maybe adding a party prince by her side. Nina is trying to avoid the palace–and Prince Jefferson–at all costs. And a dangerous secret threatens to undo all of Daphne’s carefully laid “marry Prince Jefferson” plans. A new reign has begun….

Continue reading “ARC Review: Majesty by Katharine McGee”

(TTT) Contemporary Romances I Loved // mini-reviews!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Books I Loved But Never Reviewed and I’ve recently noticed that I never review the contemporary romances I love for some reason so I thought this was a great opportunity to write some mini-reviews and recommend you some of my favorite romances (the majority of which I read this year)!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, but now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

Continue reading “(TTT) Contemporary Romances I Loved // mini-reviews!”

Review: You Say It First by Katie Cotugno

[Goodreads]: Meg has her entire life set up perfectly: her boyfriend Mason is sweet and supportive, she and her best friend Emily plan to head to Cornell together in the fall, and she even finds time to clock shifts phone banking at a voter registration call center in her Philadelphia suburb. But everything changes when one of those calls connects her to a stranger from small-town Ohio, who gets under her skin from the moment he picks up the phone.

Colby is stuck in a rut, reeling from a family tragedy and working a dead-end job—unsure what his future holds, or if he even cares. The last thing he has time for is some privileged rich girl preaching the sanctity of the political process. So he says the worst thing he can think of and hangs up.

But things don’t end there.…That night on the phone winds up being the first in a series of candid, sometimes heated, always surprising conversations that lead to a long-distance friendship and then—slowly—to something more. Across state lines and phone lines, Meg and Colby form a once-in-a-lifetime connection. But in the end, are they just too different to make it work?

Continue reading “Review: You Say It First by Katie Cotugno”