The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year

I think writing this post made me realize just how much my reading taste is moving away from YA, which isn’t to say I haven’t read some bad YA this year, either. These are the ones that I enjoyed the most this year and that I always recommend whenever I can, so I figured it was time to share them here with you guys too!

Continue reading “The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year”

ARC Review: The Summoner’s Cry by Ana C. Reis

Goodreads | A powerless Summoner. A cursed Witch Lord. A clash of demons and magic.

After a failed coup against Witch Queen Lilith, rogue Witches Lau and Adam have no choice but to flee and hide. Crushed and surrounded by enemies, the pair arrives at Latis, a peculiar island brimming with strange tales of the supernatural, where they hope to find Adam’s long-lost grimoire — their only shield against Lilith’s wrath.

Rendered powerless after sealing a dragon Spirit in Adam’s flesh to save his life, Lau struggles with loneliness and resentment. Helpless and doomed to live forever in a child’s body, Adam seeks to make peace with a spell he has no strength nor skill to undo.

Once allies in an ancient war, Lau and Adam start drifting apart. But when a dangerous visitor sets foot on Latis and the grimoire is nowhere to be found, the two estranged Witches must work together if they want to save themselves and the lives of the townsfolk they’ve come to love.


Continue reading “ARC Review: The Summoner’s Cry by Ana C. Reis”

[Book Tour] Shadow Stained by Rachel Hobbs – Review

  • Publisher: independent
  • 362 Pages
  • Date: 14th April 2021
  • Paranormal fantasy
  • Amazon Goodreads

Synopsis: For her, it’s her late grandma’s legacy. For him, the mother of all black arts spoils, granting one demon the power of a God. Immortality.

When occult-magnet Ruby falls victim to Demon Lord Drayvex’s viperous allure, she loses a sentient dark relic to his light fingers and appetite for power. Like calls to like. But when Drayvex himself loses the relic to a traitor to the throne, Ruby coerces him – the tyrant king with a soft spot for humanity – into helping her save her pokey old world village from becoming a ground zero of mass demonic carnage. Both invested in reclaiming the relic, the one thing Ruby and Drayvex agree on is that it’s in the wrong hands. Co-existing in a precarious arrangement between predator and prey, to save the planet they both love for different reasons, they must become a formidable double-team in the face of an apocalyptic takeover. Now, the fate of both human and demon alike rests with a killer that walks between worlds, and a woman with a curse in her bloodline.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Shadow Stained by Rachel Hobbs – Review”

ARC Review: The Women of Troy by Pat Barker

Following her bestselling, critically acclaimed The Silence of the Girls, Pat Barker continues her extraordinary retelling of one of our greatest myths.

Troy has fallen. The Greeks have won their bitter war. They can return home victors, loaded with their spoils: their stolen gold, stolen weapons, stolen women. All they need is a good wind to lift their sails.

But the wind does not come. The gods have been offended – the body of Priam lies desecrated, unburied – and so the victors remain in limbo, camped in the shadow of the city they destroyed, pacing at the edge of an unobliging sea. And, in these empty, restless days, the hierarchies that held them together begin to fray, old feuds resurface and new suspicions fester.

Largely unnoticed by her squabbling captors, Briseis remains in the Greek encampment. She forges alliances where she can – with young, dangerously naïve Amina, with defiant, aged Hecuba, with Calchus, the disgraced priest – and begins to see the path to a kind of revenge. Briseis has survived the Trojan War, but peacetime may turn out to be even more dangerous…

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Women of Troy by Pat Barker”

ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Goodreads: Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim”

[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

  • Genre: Young Adult Horror
  • Publishing date: June 29th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies. 
 
In the next few hours, one of three things will happen. 
 
1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely) 
 

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe) 
 
3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent) 

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right. 

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything. 

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive. 

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos”

[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review

  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
  • Publishing Date: June 8, 2021
  • Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review”

ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]

Goodreads// The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Continue reading “ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]”

My Favorite Fantasy Series on Netflix

Hi, there, I hope you’re all doing well! Today I’m here to share my favorite fantasy series currently available to watch on Netflix! There are plenty more series that I love, but these are some of the ones that I can always go back to rewatch when I need something that I know I like or that won’t bore me. Trying out new shows only to be very bored after a few episodes is something very tiring for me so, trust me when I say I rewatch more than not…

As I haven’t been all that inspired to write bookish posts, I decided to start sharing more of my love of tv shows and movies with you again! These posts will be in the form of recs or perhaps even reviews sometimes, but I’m aiming for just one post a month at least for now. Hope you enjoy it!

(Also, I’ve elected to put all of these in a random order.)


Continue reading “My Favorite Fantasy Series on Netflix”

Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It’s been a very long time since I made one of these posts, though there has been no shortage of contenders. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater was one of my absolute favorite books of 2020, and I recently got a physical copy and the sudden urge to reread it. What can I say, other than that this book is good for my soul?

This time around I thoroughly annotated it, and I have a large list of quotes to share with you today! Note that this will include SPOILERS for this book, though I refrained from putting anything major. *

RELATED: Review: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater [+moodboard]

Continue reading “Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater”