[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  • Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
  • Publishing Date: July 13, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison”

ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Goodreads: Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim”

[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

  • Genre: Young Adult Horror
  • Publishing date: June 29th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies. 
 
In the next few hours, one of three things will happen. 
 
1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely) 
 

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe) 
 
3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent) 

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right. 

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything. 

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive. 

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos”

[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review

  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
  • Publishing Date: June 8, 2021
  • Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review”

ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]

Goodreads// The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Continue reading “ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]”

Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Goodreads // When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

Continue reading “Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken”

Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It’s been a very long time since I made one of these posts, though there has been no shortage of contenders. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater was one of my absolute favorite books of 2020, and I recently got a physical copy and the sudden urge to reread it. What can I say, other than that this book is good for my soul?

This time around I thoroughly annotated it, and I have a large list of quotes to share with you today! Note that this will include SPOILERS for this book, though I refrained from putting anything major. *

RELATED: Review: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater [+moodboard]

Continue reading “Favorite Quotes: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater”

Review: Covet by Tracy Wolf

Goodreads: I may have reached my breaking point. As if trying to graduate from a school for supernaturals isn’t stressful enough, my relationship status has gone from complicated to a straight-up dumpster fire. Oh, and the Bloodletter has decided to drop a bomb of epic proportions on us all… Then again, when has anything at Katmere Academy not been intense?

And the hits just keep coming. Jaxon’s turned colder than an Alaskan winter. The Circle is splintered over my upcoming coronation. As if things couldn’t get worse, now there’s an arrest warrant for Hudson’s and my supposed crimes—which apparently means a lifetime prison sentence with a deadly unbreakable curse. Choices will have to be made…and I fear not everyone will survive.

*This review is for the second book in the Crave series by Tracy Wolff, so if you haven’t read Crave yet, I wouldn’t recommend reading this review as it may spoil you.*

Continue reading “Review: Covet by Tracy Wolf”

Review: Breaking Damian by Eren Morgul

Goodreads// Damian lives on the streets of the Gauntlet—a megapolis where magic wielding weavers from four different Houses and ordinary people coexist peacefully. His life is a struggle and he’s doing anything to get by, including stealing from wealthy merchants and working in the mines, all the while dreaming of becoming a weaver.

Then, one day, he shows signs of magic and his life changes forever.

But when the Emperor who has been ruling over the Gauntlet for two hundred years disappears, the Houses turn on each other and he finds himself at the center of a power struggle.

Now, with civil war threatening to engulf his world, he realizes that it is up to him, and him alone, to end the conflict between the Houses and save everyone he loves


Continue reading “Review: Breaking Damian by Eren Morgul”

Review: Crush by Tracy Wolff

Goodreads // Everything feels off—especially me. I’ve returned to Katmere Academy, but I’m haunted by fragments of days I have no recollection of living and struggling to understand who, or what, I really am. Just when I start to feel safe again, Hudson is back with a vengeance. He insists there are secrets I don’t know about, threatening to drive a wedge between Jaxon and me forever. But far worse enemies are at our doorstep.

The Circle is caught in a power play and the Vampire Court is trying to drag me out of my world and into theirs. The only thing Hudson and Jaxon agree on is that leaving Katmere would mean my certain death.And not only am I fighting for my life, but now everyone else’s is at stake—unless we can defeat an unspeakable evil. All I know is that saving the people I love is going to require sacrifice. Maybe more than I’m able to give.

Continue reading “Review: Crush by Tracy Wolff”