Double Review: Skyward & Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

Now that I’m reading Cytonic (a.k.a. Skyward #3), I thought it was finally time to review these books! This is one of the few scifi series I whole-heartedly enjoy (and maybe even love?) and I just think more people need to read it! *Don’t let the Brandon Sanderson hype get you down, it’s completely different from his other books!

Continue reading “Double Review: Skyward & Starsight by Brandon Sanderson”

[Book Tour] Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh – Review + Songs to Listen to While Reading

Today’s my tour stop in the blog tour for Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh! This tour is being hosted by Turn the Page Tours and it will run from October 30th to November 6th and you can find the tour schedule here.


Get You the Moon
by Hasnita Singh
Published by Cherry Publishing
Released on July 16th, 2021
YOUNG ADULT FICTION—Coming-of-age, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:

All Scarlet Bridge wants is to get through her last year of school, overcome her brother’s shadowy legacy, and win the prized scholarship for college. She’s not about to let anyone stand in her way, not even everyone’s favorite Golden Boy, Levi Henare.

Levi loves rugby, his family, and teasing Scarlet Bridge. With a tough family situation at home, he has his own reasons for excelling both academically and on the sports field.

When Scarlet accidentally dials Levi’s phone number, a chain of events that neither expected is set into motion.Thrown together by a twist of fate, will they come to understand and appreciate each other, and themselves or are they destined to remain at daggers drawn forever?

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Get You the Moon by Hasnita Singh – Review + Songs to Listen to While Reading”

The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year

I think writing this post made me realize just how much my reading taste is moving away from YA, which isn’t to say I haven’t read some bad YA this year, either. These are the ones that I enjoyed the most this year and that I always recommend whenever I can, so I figured it was time to share them here with you guys too!

Continue reading “The Best YA Fantasy Novels I Read this Year”

Review: Clique Bait by Ann Valett

Goodreads // Chloe Whittaker is out for revenge.

Last year her best friend Monica’s life was unceremoniously ruined by the most popular students at their high school, so this year Chloe plans to take each and every one of them down. She’s traded in her jeans and T-shirts for the latest designer clothes, erased anything on social media that would tie her to Monica (and blow her cover), and carefully figured out how she will befriend the members of the clique, find out their deepest and darkest secrets, and reveal them to the world.

Chloe has the perfect plan . . . but there’s one thing she didn’t prepare for. And that’s falling for someone she’s determined to destroy. The closer she gets to uncovering the secrets the in-crowd is determined to cover up, the more she realizes that she is going to have to choose between betraying her oldest friend or the boy who’s captured her heart.

Continue reading “Review: Clique Bait by Ann Valett”

[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  • Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
  • Publishing Date: July 13, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison”

ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Goodreads: Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim”

[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

  • Genre: Young Adult Horror
  • Publishing date: June 29th, 2021
  • Goodreads

Synopsis:

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies. 
 
In the next few hours, one of three things will happen. 
 
1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely) 
 

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe) 
 
3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent) 

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right. 

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything. 

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive. 

Continue reading “[Book Spotlight] Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos”

[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review

  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
  • Publishing Date: June 8, 2021
  • Goodreads 

Synopsis:

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Continue reading “[Book Tour] Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria – Review”

ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]

Goodreads// The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

Continue reading “ARC Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten [+moodboard]”

Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Goodreads // When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

Continue reading “Review: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken”